Wednesday, January 29, 2014


The Baltimore Orioles Wins the Fall Classic

New York, NY (McC) Season 21 is finally here! As we have done in the past, we here at McCabe Magazine would like to thank the beat writers in all 32 major cities, the baseball contributors at yahoo, the Sporting News Magazine,, Baseball American, Playboy, and the GMs, and front office folks that help this year’s preview be the most in-depth and comprehensive baseball magazine on the web.

McCabe Magazine and the noted contributors spent the entire off season analyzing the 40-man rosters of each organization and their top minor leaguers at every level. The consensus here is the San Diego Padres will win the National League pennant for the fourth year in a row, and the American League East will win the American League pennant again, as they have done the last five years. The only problem was which AL East team had what it takes to defend the division’s pennant? Despite the early odds posted by the Las Vegas Hilton, which has installed the Padres as a 2-1 favorite to win back to back titles, we’re going in a different direction. According to the data we have we select the Baltimore Orioles as the American League champions. They will go on to upset the Padres in the fall classic, 4-3.     
The Playoff Teams

In the American League we pick the Orioles to knock off the Toronto Blues in the league championship series, 4-2. The National League pennant will be another western divisional slugfest with San Diego winning the championship series 4-3 over the Colorado Rockies. The American League divisional winners will be; the Blues Jays (94-68), Orioles (96-66), Kansas City Royals (91-71), and Los Angeles Dodgers (95-67). The National League divisional winners will be; the Chicago Cubs (88-74), New York Mets (84-78), Atlanta Braves (91-71), and the Padres (109-53). Our Wildcard teams will be; New York Yankees (90-66), Boston Red Sox (88-74), Rockies (99-63), and the Seattle Mariners (96-66).  
Award Winners

As we noted, the Las Vegas Hilton along with McCabe Magazine contributors has posted its opening lines and prop wages for the upcoming season. Besides San Diego being the favorite to win the World Series (we disagree, Baltimore is our choice), they have also listed Kris Guerrero, (SS) of the Orioles as the favorite to win the AL MVP, Padres catcher Murray Higgins as the NL MVP. The CY Young award winners will be Don Seaver (P) Houston Astros, and 31 year-old Chicago Cub pitcher Vince Garcia. Rookie of the Year in the AL will be Angel Anderson (LF) Anaheim Angels, the NL ROY will be Alan Drese (SS) Cleveland Indians.

Season 21 Final Standings

American League
Team Owner W L
Toronto Blue Jays dimestoregin 94 68
Chicago White Sox kgrffth 86 76
Milwaukee Brewers brentcnb * 82 80
Minnesota Twins optistrat * 76 86
Team Owner W L
Baltimore Orioles bourboncask 96 66
New York Yankees ARomano 90 72
Boston Red Sox pat007ohmss 88 74
Washington D.C. Nationals Saffron 73 89
Team Owner W L
Kansas City Royals TenaciousTYT 91 71
Houston Astros ajaxx88 87 75
St. Louis Cardinals 421werd 78 84
Texas Rangers goldenbaer88 73 89
Team Owner W L
Los Angeles Dodgers Arte 95 67
Oakland Athletics jefepwnzer 87 75
San Francisco Giants wylie715 82 80
Anaheim Angels captain10a 79 83
National League
Team Owner W L
Chicago Cubs mitt0108 88 74
Detroit Tigers patrickkm 87 75
Cleveland Indians Fantasy Frea 80 82
Cincinnati Reds cpintens 75 87
Team Owner W L
New York Mets basebalguru 84 78
Philadelphia Phillies egw18 81 81
Pittsburgh Pirates nbaker10 80 82
Rochester Broncos coinguy 71 91
Team Owner W L
Atlanta Braves bigsammich 91 71
Tampa Bay Rays rsskfs23 88 74
Richmond Virginians sylemark 85 77
Florida Marlins lido9613 70 92
Team Owner W L
San Diego Padres jgarron * 109 53
Colorado Rockies axtell 99 63
Seattle Mariners toothdoc7 96 66
Arizona Diamondbacks yoker70 83 79

No comments:

Post a Comment